Quality New Mexico

Quality New Mexico has the tools to equip New Mexico businesses and
organizations to successfully accomplish their mission and achieve their vision.

(505) 944-2001

QNM Facebook QNM Twitter QNM LinkedIn  

Become a Member Today

Give your organization a competitive advantage with active membership!

Join Now

Get Started: New Mexico Performance Excellence Awards


Thre true benefit of the NMPEA is the work you do to earn recogntion - publicizing your acheivement is important too. We want the world to know about New Mexico organizations working toward and achieving 'best-in-class' and 'role model' status.

What's the New Mexico Performance Excellence Awards?

The New Mexico Performance Excellence Awards (NMPEA) is 4-tiered program providing organizations with formal feedback and public  recognition at various stages of performance. Organizations cannot be nominated for recognition - they must 'earn' the level of recogntion based on 'performance' as determined, but not limited to, a completed 'self-assessment' using the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence. 

Conducting a self-assessment provides immediate insight to strengths, gaps, and opportunities for improvement (OFIs). It answers the questions 'how are we doing' - how do we know'. Submitting the self-asessment (known as 'Application') to QNM through the NMPEA program provides third party review by a team of Examiners, a Site Visit to better understand the organization, a written Feedback Report on strengths and OFIs, and an Executive Briefing with the team.

  • Level 1 Adobe - building the foundation (can be requested throughout the year)
  • Level 2 Piñon Commitment to Performance Excellence (must be submitted during the awards cycle - see schedule)
  • Level 3 Roadrunner Progress toward Performance Excellence (must be submitted during the awards cycle - see schedule)
  • Level 4 Zia Award  Achievement of Performance Excellence (must be submitted during the awards cycle - see schedule)

The self-assessment and formal Feedback Report are based on the Framework and 7 categories of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence:

  • Leadership
  • Strategic Planning
  • Customer Focus 
  • Measurement, Analysis and Knowledge Management
  • Workforce Focus
  • Operations Focus
  • Results

2014 NMPEA Schedule

  • Intent to Apply submittal - due no later than June 20, 2014 
  • Examiner Training - July 2014 (see Examiner page for schedule)
  • Application Submittal - no later than July 14, 2014
  • Examiner Team Review period - August 4th through September 26th
  • Applicant Site Visits - October 13th through October 29th

                              Pinon Level - 4-5 hours

                              Roadrunner Level - 1 Day

                              Zia Level - 2 Days

  • Panel of Judges Review - October/November
  • Panel of Judges Determinations Announced - Late November
  • Feedback Reports distributed - November 10th thru November 21st
  • Executive Briefings conducted - November 17th thru December 12th